Christmas Miracles

Since I left the church many moons ago, Christmas has brought me a myriad of emotions.  The oddest being my bursting into tears every time I attempt to sing carols. Well, this pregnancy has brought me a lot of tears.

Tears of joy, tears of anxiety, tears of amusement, tears of anger – I haven’t stopped leaking since week 4. But, all the crying seems to be drying up as I enter the 3rd trimester and we enter the Christmas season.

I found myself singing my favorite carols on the street corner yesterday, while waiting for my bus to arrive. Because I can. And, miracle of miracles, not a tear was shed! Sure, I got a bit choked up during “O Come All Ye Faithful”, but no tears were lost and my voice was clear and I felt good. It was lovely. I may have left behind the church but I love the music, especially the more archaic hymnals. Their sentiments are beautiful.

Either way, I’ll take this gift and be glad.

What Christmas miracle are you waiting for?

Leave a Reply

