Abundance

This is my favorite transition period. Especially here in the PNW. The days are crisper, shorter and if you sit still for just a moment you can smell the earth settling. I harvested my cabbages, a cuke, the last of the beans, tomatoes and lots of kale/collard greens. I’m out of jars but pumpkin season is coming! I’m hoping to get one good glean in a pumpkin field to make enough puree for chilli, pies, lasagna, for the entire winter and spring…I heart pumpkins.

cabbage veg001

wildrose14

This is part of my backyard landscape – Wild roses. It’s nearly time to collect hips for jamming and drying.

cook

You know what they say: No proof means it never happened….I have been gifted with a TON of delicious Italian plums. Ready to eat right NOW plums. So! I made fruit leather for the first time. I welded it to the aluminum foil and now I’ll try again with parchment paper. However, It was easy, time consuming and delicious. Here’s the welded first attempt. (I was able to salvage a lot of it)

fruitleather

But, word to the wise? It takes a lot more fruit than it says.

I’ve been geeking out over vegan kitchen witchery. I’m not saying we’re switching to 100% vegan, only that it’s expanding our diet significantly and allowing us to cook sapid, inexpensive meals.

It’s been a long week and I’ve run out of steam to get too involved here yet. I hope to share some Northern Lights photographs tomorrow…we’ll see if I can stay up that late.

Leave a Reply

