M Rating

I’ve been debating for a long time regarding sharing personal things. As you can see, the side of ‘write it down’ generally wins.

This year has been a long one. There has been a lot of beginning and end in it.  I’m hoping that in relaying this others can find the strength to share their story and voice their victories and grief. I love when you share.

I lost my mother to pancreatic cancer this summer.  This was a mixed bag of emotions. I miss her terribly. My family is grieving together. That’s the most positive thing that I can think to say and I feel like it’s very positive.

My husband came out to me in bouts and stages as being transexual. We had a long discussion over several weeks. We’re still talking pretty constantly about it and how things may change. We’ve been role playing different scenarios from silly to scary. She has become a new person over the last few weeks. So much happier, more confident and just…sexy…than ever in our 16 year relationship. What a whallop! It was not completely unexpected, so please don’t misunderstand. It was just never spoken about and when it was hinted at…well, it’s taken  a lot of tiny little concessions, over many years, from my mate regarding her own wants and desires to get where we are. It was just such an incredible act of bravery. It showed a commitment to being a happy person. I am humbled and glad. There is more and beyond but this has been the piece that wanted to be shared. I’ll add more as I come across it. We’ve never done this before, so bear with me.

The garden has been a sweet little haven. The tomatoes and cucumbers are the sweetest I’ve ever tasted. My little pumpkin is starting to gain an orange blush. I’ going to go pumpkin crazy next year! My tobacco plant is blooming. Who knew tobacco flowers were so pretty? And the leaves are GINORMOUS! I’ve been picking figs, and apples in the neighborhood. I found fennel and persimmons and grapes and more apples and all manner of fruit on public and abandoned land. My mate has been making apple sauce with my pickings and pickles and apple cider vinegar. We make a good team.

Leave a Reply

